Washington (GGM) Analysis | January 29, 2020
by Noreen Wise
After a ten year struggle to become profitable, Tesla nailed it in 2019. The 4th quarter was the turning point according to CNN.
Some of the key factors for increased growth in consumer demand that put Tesla into the black are:
how long it takes to charge
how many public charging stations exist in local communities
and the EV car price
Every single one of these critical factors have moved in the right direction.
range increased with the new average at 200 miles per full charge
charging time went down significantly and now only averages a quick 20 minutes
public charging stations have mushroomed, not only businesses providing them in corporate parking lots to employees, but stores offering charging stations to consumers as a competitive advantage
EV car prices have dropped substantially
Climate action focused states such as New York, California, Connecticut and Massachusetts have crafted creative carrots and stick, incentives and regulations, creating a patchwork of solutions that are driving results. Very happy for Tesla to finally experience the upside of being an innovator, after schlepping through the painful wilderness for so long.
In 2020, Tesla will have to face a much more competitive landscape, now that most of the obstacles in the EV marketplace have been eliminated.
The following isCNET’s Road Show’sofficial 2020 EV lineup by range:
Tesla Model S |373 miles | $79,990
Tesla Model 3 | Long Range 330 miles | $44,500
Tesla Model X | 328 miles | $81,000
Chevrolet Bolt EV | 259 miles | $36,620
Hyundai Kona Electric | 258 miles | $36,990
Kia Niro EV (SUV) | 239 miles | $38,500
Jaguar I-Pace | 234 miles | $69,850
Nissan Leaf Plus | 226 miles | $36,550
Audi e-tron | 204 miles | $75,000
Porsche Taycan | 201 miles | $150,900
BMW i3 | 153 miles | $44,450
Nissan Leaf | 150 miles | $29,990
Mini Cooper SE | 110 miles | $20,000
Honda Clarity Electric | 89 miles | lease only
Very extensive options. But the Tesla Model 3 certainly shines amongst its peers.~
Washington (GGM) Analysis | November 30, 2019
by Noreen Wise
The holiday shopping season has begun. Packed malls and stores from coast to coast. American consumers are expected to spend nearly a half trillion dollars from Thanksgiving through December 25, 2019. But how many US shoppers will rely on their reusable bags at every store they visit?
Prior to 1977, stores offered paper bags to shoppers. But once the first plastic shopping bags appeared in 1977, the switch to plastic was swift and furious and by the end of the 1990’s, the vast majority of retail outlets across the globe relied on single-use plastic. According to The World Counts:
we consume 5 trillion single-use plastic bags per year
160,000 single-use plastic bags per second
but sadly, less than 1% of these are recycled
single-use plastic bags are made from oil, gas & coal which produce a significant amount of carbon
one ton of recycled single-use plastic bags equals 11 barrels of oil
the public’s seeming indifference to the extensive damage single-use plastic causes the environment, as well as it’s impact on climate change, has resulted in several states stepping in to regulate the use of single-use plastic bags
Connecticut just passed a law that went into effect August 1 2019, banning single-use plastic bags in grocery stores and restaurants by July 2021. Some grocery store chains and restaurants have already begun transitioning patrons to the ban by ditching all plastic bags and charging shoppers .10 cents for paper bags, as well as passing along a discount to shoppers who bring their own reusables. Businesses that continue to provide singles-use plastic bags these next 19 months will charge shoppers a .10 cent tax for each plastic bag. This is an excellent model for other states to follow.
California was the very first state to ban single-use plastic bags back in 2014, and San Francisco was the first US city in 2007
New York jumped in and banned single-use plastic bags on Earth Day 2019; the ban will go into effective March of 2020
Hawaii hasn’t officially banned these deadly bags, but beginning in 2015 every county in the state has barred them, so Hawaii too is included in the count of state bans
Washington (GGM) Analysis | September 18, 2019
by Noreen Wise
There are many states who began passing common sense gun legislation to curb gun violence and are now experiencing the benefits. Lives have been saved. Communities are safer. Thus, it’s very clear why more than 90% of Americans are demanding that local, state and federal legislators do something.
Diving deeper to assess which states have passed which bills, it soon becomes crystal clear that the permissive gun states that have allowed gun ownership to go unchecked, are the states with the highest gun violence deaths. This makes sense, which again is why more than 90% of Americans, many millions of whom are gun owners, are demanding action.
How can Mitch McConnell hold a blind eye to this reality? Why is Mitch McConnell suddenly saying that he can’t allow any bill that Trump won’t sign to be brought to the floor for a vote? This is illogical and unconstitutional. The Legislative Branch is separate from the Executive and McConnell is at the helm of the Senate in the Legislative Branch. Going rogue and eliminating a vital check & balance, especially when it comes to the safety and protection of the American people, should be grounds for having him removed as Senate Majority Leader.
Connecticut is an excellent example of passing common sense gun laws that have served residents well and saved thousands of lives.
The Sandy Hook massacre of 20 innocent first graders and 6 adults occurred on December 14, 2012
State Permit is required to purchase both long guns and hand guns
Registration is required through Department of Emergency and Public Protection for log guns & handguns, gun tracked by authorization number and DPS-3-C form
Partial ban on assault rifles: no new sales/purchases of assault rifles; banned ARs already owned, must be registered, if owner wants to sell AR, can only sell to licensed gun dealer
Magazine Capacity Restriction: any magazine that holds greater than 10 rounds is considered an LCM (Large Capacity Magazine); all LCMs were banned when new law went into effect, cannot be sold or transferred; existing owners had to register LMs by
Permit Required for Concealed Carry: owner must meet requirements, and abide by two-step process, first, 60-day temporary permit issued by local authorities, Second, 5 year permit issued by DESPP
Permit Required for Open Carry: MUST have a license to open carry
Vehicle Carry: Must have valid pistol permit to carry loaded gun in car, otherwise must be unloaded and firearm and ammunition stored in separate locked containers; if car left unattended, firearm must be locked in trunk or glove box
Castle Doctrine: not the exact same as “stand your ground,” but if intruder enters home or yard and owner has permit and “reasonable force,” courts provide civil immunity
Background Checks: required for private party transfer and must be performed by federally licensed dealer
Red Flag Law: allows police to obtain a court warrant and seize guns from anyone posing a risk to others or themselves once they investigate and determine probable cause
Connecticut’s sweeping common sense gun laws are some of the most reasonable and effective in the country and serve as a very sensible model to follow. In 2019, Connecticut ranks in the top 5 states with the lowest number of gun deaths per capita.
The top 5 states with the highest number of per capita gun deaths are five red states with permissive gun laws:
Alaska – most permissive gun ownership in country, must be 21, complete handgun competency course, no permit required to carry, Castle Doctrine, that’s it
Montana – must be 18, open & concealed carry legal without permit, Castle Doctrine, done
Alabama – must be 18, no permit or background check or registration required for private sales, open carry legal without permit, concealed carry needs pistol permit, Castle Doctrine, done
Louisiana – must be 17, no permit or background check or registration required for private sales, concealed carry is legal with a permit, open carry requires no permit, Castle Doctrine, that’s it
Missouri – must be 19, no permit or background check or registration required for private sales, open carry and concealed carry both legal without permit, but gun owners can obtain a concealed carry permit (CCP) if they’d like one, local authorities are able to restrict in certain locations, Castle Doctrine, done
The Connecticut common sense gun laws respect the 2nd Amendment, while simultaneously protecting the American public’s expectation to live in a safe community. Colt is headquartered in Connecticut, and yet these bipartisan common sense gun laws passed in record time following the Sandy Hook massacre.
If more than 90% of the American public are demanding common sense gun laws, and the data proves the effectiveness, it doesn’t make sense to sit on the sidelines and hold a blind eye to such convincing proof that common sense gun laws save lives, maybe your own.